[OpenSource] Fan Control Software for Windows XP and Vista

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by sdav, Sep 12, 2008.

  1. sdav

    askaaron

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you already check out my aaocontrol command line tool (see http://arnowelzel.de/download/aaocontrol-0.1.zip? This makes it much easier to play around with the EC registers in Windows. I never had to read any register - just write the desired value to register 0x55 - and this will not cause any acpiec errors.

    Well - of course after returning from standby or hibernation the fan starts again - but these events can be checked via WMI, so the fan status can be restored, when needed, without polling the EC registers all the time.

    Not here - i have a A150L with BIOS v0.3304 and "slow mode" does nothing. The fan starts in the same speed as in "auto" and then stops. But another interesting value: 0xaf will stop the fan in all known BIOS versions.

    Well - even with the fan stopped, my CPU stays at about 45-50°C core temperature in idle and even with full load (using cpuburn etc.) for 20 minutes, it just heats up to about 65-70°C core temperature (at 22°C room temperature). Of course you can feel that the device gets warm - but it is still far from "hot" and the Atom N270 is specified to run at 90°C maximum and it has only 2,5 W TDP, so i think most of the time, passive cooling is absolutely OK. The fan is just designed for safety in case, the machine is used in a hotter environment.
     
    askaaron, Oct 1, 2008
    #21
  2. sdav

    ccwh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    No slow mode..Bad news :(

    Correction: 0x10 is working. Fan is runnig at slow speed :D
    I use bios 3304.
    Reading the temperature cause ACPIEC errors.
     
    ccwh, Oct 1, 2008
    #22
  3. sdav

    noda

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many users reported slow mode working on theirs, I don't know what's wrong with yours :/

    As for getting the CPU temp without polling the EC and knowing when the computer is back from sleep, I'm greatly intterested, getting rid of those ACPI errors would be nice.
     
    noda, Oct 1, 2008
    #23
  4. sdav

    sdav

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    sdav, Oct 1, 2008
    #24
  5. sdav

    askaaron

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed the DDK and was able to compile the PortTalk driver (which i use in my command line tool aaocontrol) - so building some additional kernel stuff to get the MSR read should not be too far away :)
     
    askaaron, Oct 2, 2008
    #25
  6. sdav

    ddlooping

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    With bios v0.3304 I have found "0xaf" to be the "fan off" setting.

    I would appreciate if someone who knows about ms-dos/batch files could correct the following. :)
    Code:
    SET fanState=%aaocontrol read 0x55%
    IF %fanState%==0xaf (
    @aaocontrol write 0x55 0x00
    ) ELSE (
    @aaocontrol write 0x55 0xaf
    )
    TIA ;)
     
    ddlooping, Oct 4, 2008
    #26
  7. sdav

    vibez

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone explain slow mode to me? I don't understand how to enable it
     
    vibez, Oct 5, 2008
    #27
  8. sdav

    sdav

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some persons say that the Aspire One permits you to program the fan in order to make in to go slow...
    I think the Aspire One uses this mode automatically and this cannot be setup by the user.

    ;) Just uploaded the latest version that contains some fixes and some new enhancements.

    Now it should work perfectly ;-)
     
    sdav, Oct 7, 2008
    #28
  9. sdav

    ddlooping

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice work Davide, thanks. :)

    Could you let me know how you access/use the "Mini" version you speak of on your site?
     
    ddlooping, Oct 7, 2008
    #29
  10. sdav

    vibez

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    looking forward to trying out the new version
     
    vibez, Oct 7, 2008
    #30
  11. sdav

    vibez

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    its AspireOneTempMini.exe in the mini folder
     
    vibez, Oct 7, 2008
    #31
  12. sdav

    ddlooping

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I'll give it a try. :)
     
    ddlooping, Oct 7, 2008
    #32
  13. sdav

    chadster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Granada Hills California
    I've tried the new version but i'm getting ACPIEC errors. is there anyway to fix that?
     
    chadster, Oct 10, 2008
    #33
  14. sdav

    askaaron

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will get these ACPIEC errors with every existing tool (AA1FanControl as well), since reading the EC to get the CPU temperatur or fan state will cause these errors. Only a kernel driver to read the CPU MSR instead of the EC (or a special driver to access the EC with locking instead of just poking around the I/O ports) would avoid this.
     
    askaaron, Oct 11, 2008
    #34
  15. sdav

    chadster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Granada Hills California
    I'm using AA1FanControl and I never got that error.
     
    chadster, Oct 11, 2008
    #35
  16. sdav

    ccwh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Did you check in the event log in control panel/admistration tools ?
     
    ccwh, Oct 11, 2008
    #36
  17. sdav

    chadster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Granada Hills California
    yes I did and the only error I see is coming from this software
     
    chadster, Oct 12, 2008
    #37
  18. sdav

    sdav

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ACPIEC error solved.
     
    sdav, Nov 24, 2008
    #38
  19. sdav

    ccwh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    how ? ACPIEC patch ?
     
    ccwh, Dec 2, 2008
    #39
  20. sdav

    mercado79

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just noticed recently that version .4 had been released, however, the binary download doesn't contain the required files. It only contains a subset and does not run at all. I get an error message, "application has failed to start because UNICOWS.DLL was not found." Hasn't anyone else run into this?
     
    mercado79, Dec 6, 2008
    #40
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.