opensuse 11.1

Discussion in 'Linux' started by bhrich902, Apr 8, 2009.

1. bhrich902

bhrich902

i have fedora installed, and while everything seems to be working the one little thing that makes me want to switch is that sound stops working when resuming from suspend. so if anyone has opensuse 11.1 working could u point me to how you got it to work?, i downloaded the gnome live iso and created a bootable usb with unetbootin but when booting into it it gives me an error, can't remember what it is exactly but is something with the F3/F4 keys for some reason. i have the red 10.1 with the n270 atom, thx...

bhrich902, Apr 8, 2009
  2. bhrich902

AspireOverdrive

I'm no linux expert, but is there any way you can restart the sound drivers or sound "daemon"?

AspireOverdrive, Apr 10, 2009
  3. bhrich902

sijmes

I do know that Suse 11.1 seems to work out of the box all except for the Wifi, shame as these Netbooks are getting a lot of attention for desktop Linux, any distro vendor would be a fool to release a distro that does not work on a Netbook.....the whole Netbook sector uses basically the same hardware....

sijmes, May 28, 2009
  4. bhrich902

shobon

OpenSuSE 11.1 with GNOME has Wifi working OOTB.

shobon, May 28, 2009
  5. bhrich902

yo6ial

Hi there! :)

I've got the AAone working 99.9% with OpenSuSE 11.1 and Gnome+compiz.
    It's really-really SWEET!
    The .1% is represented by some minor things
    - Suspend to ram hangs the system (i find it useless anyway...)
    - Suspend to disk makes my wallpaper (the one behind the desktop cube) disappear (goes black even if config is ok)
    - Amarok spectrum analyzer freezes until i restart amarok. (That's more of a compiz vs hibernate issue)
    - And what bothers me most, still can't get more than 1024x768@60Hz out on the VGA port.