OS X on AA1 without DVD?

Discussion in 'MacOS' started by karlsmith, Jun 27, 2009.

1. karlsmith

karlsmith

Hi there. Apols if this has been addressed before, but all the answers I've seen appear to be incomplete or problematic.

Has anyone put together (or seen?) a how-to for getting OS X on an AA1 without an external DVD drive? The closest I've seen was a guide for the xXx distro, but that sounded like it didn't work too well. It needs to be fairly basic, I'm afraid - I'm no expert at poking around in terminal and the like.

karlsmith, Jun 27, 2009
  2. karlsmith

uluf

This is probably not the answer you want to hear, but please consider:
    For a few dollars you can buy equipment to attach any spare DVD-R drive through USB and it will work fine for installing any kind of operating system. Consider what your own time is worth to you and you might even end up saving money. What you want to do is not impossible, but since you are not an expert at poking around in terminal you might be better off spending your time with something more enjoyable, like Photo Booth.

uluf, Jun 27, 2009
  3. karlsmith

karlsmith

Really, is it that hard?

I said I'm no expert, not that I've never done it or that I'm not game to try. Also, many of the more recent - and in some ways better - solutions seem to involve live disks - this would completely defeat the object for me, as I'm looking to keep the system portable.

Plus, frankly, I'm cheap. And Photo Booth's only fun for c.5 seconds.

karlsmith, Jun 27, 2009
  4. karlsmith

brushless

You're not alone ... I'm cheap also :oops:
    See my reply http://www.aspireoneuser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=15507

brushless, Jun 27, 2009
  5. karlsmith

karlsmith

Thanks for that.