package manager not functioning

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by Rokashan, Aug 16, 2008.

1. Rokashan

Rokashan

I apologize if this has been posted before. I did a few searches and found nothing.

I have just aquired myself a One, and have done the necessairy to access the advanced menu, so that I could get a p2p program, however there seems to be an issue. I have tried on several different networks to use said package manager, and get thos error every time:

"Unable to retrieve software information"

This comes up after 10-15 seconds of the computer trying to get the info.

If anyone can help me with this, I will love you for all of time.

Rokashan, Aug 16, 2008
  2. Rokashan

Nazerel

I'm getting the message as well. I think that the server is down, as I get the message "HTTP service temporarily unavailable" when I use the terminal to check for updates. But this is my first time using Linux, so I'm not sure.

Nazerel, Aug 16, 2008
  3. Rokashan

daboom

I'm getting this too. It says "unable to retrieve software information. This could be caused by not having a network connection available." If i click "details" it says:
    "Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: fedora. Please verify its path and try again."

I'm utterly befuddled, and new to this. What network connection is it looking for? I'm not part of a network.

any help much appreciated!

daboom, Aug 16, 2008
  4. Rokashan

hldevereux

Same here. The Package Manager isn't working for me this morning either. Like Nazerel suggested, the server is probably down temporarily. I've use the Package Manager before and it worked fine then.

hldevereux, Aug 16, 2008
  5. Rokashan

fructoric

I am also a newbie to the Acer Aspire One and Linux and am encountering difficulties when I try to install Skype (skype-2.0.0.72-fc5.i586.rpm).