Photo manipulation with RAW...will the AAO hack it?

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by wanderlust, Feb 17, 2009.

1. wanderlust

wanderlust

Hi there,

I'm in the market for a netbook to take travelling with me. Its principally going to be for photo storage for my new Canon DSLR. I'm new to both the DSLR's and netbooks, so I need to suss out if the AAO is going to be man enough to handle converting RAW files through to jpegs (which I've read in a post it seems able to do) and also what its limitations are for doing a little bit of post production with the RAW files. I'm not talking about lots and not too in depth but it would be handy for me to have the option (to fill up some of the quieter evenings).

I'm looking at the A150 with 512mb and 120gb hard drive running linux to start me off. I can get hold of a refurbed one for £169 and would have a go at upping the RAM to capacity and trying to shift over to xp. IThe only thing thats putting me off buying it now is that I'm not sure if I should maybe stump up the extra money and get one of the slightly more powerfull units with the 6 cell batteries (1000h, new wind, nc-10) as, if I opt for buying a new 6 cell for the AAO I'm only going to be saving myself £50 over, say, the 1000h and I know it's going to be easier to upgrade further down the line (hard drive etc) if I keep it running.

So plus points,

Price, size, low weight, keyboard

Minus,

Lower max RAM, poor battery life, harder for a non-techie like me to upgrade

I'm heading off to India for a while so I need to make a decision sooner rather than later.

wanderlust, Feb 17, 2009
  2. wanderlust

goofball

the glossy screen on the AAO will need calibration for accurate colours (as does any screen really)
    What Canon DSLR? What raw software?
    it's obviously not very fast in opening the raw files, and doing any heavy filters in PS, or even using any of the imagenomics software filters, is pretty slow.