Potential newbie

Discussion in 'Linux' started by herbiewitch, Apr 22, 2009.

1. herbiewitch

herbiewitch

Hi all,
    I was wondering if all you lovely people can give me some advice. I am a 35 year old mum with minimal self taught computer knowledge......lets face it my twelve year old knows more than me. We have two computers at home one rather ancient desktop and my daughters rather nice laptop ( bought by doting grandparents.) Both run on microsoft programmes ( i know i probably just swore,lol) Anyway mad that I am, I start a uni course in Mental Health nursing come sept and will need a reliable computer. My budget is nonexsistant and as a result I am daring to be differrent amd investigating the potential of cheap netbooks that dare I say it run Linux. I will, hand on heart, only be using it for email, internet and essay writing...mainly because that is all i know how to do. Will linux and open office be up to this job? Will I be able to e mail my essays to tutors etc ( sis in law says she has to submit electronically?) . Am I being too tight for my own good as has been suggested....I don't know but I hope you do!

herbiewitch, Apr 22, 2009
  2. herbiewitch

daldred

In many ways you're an ideal person to get into Linux, with fewer preconceptions than most peope who've used Windows and think it's all like that!

As to the uses you'v identified:

Email: no problem, though I'd recommend installing a better email program than the one which comes pre-installed on the Aspire One. There's one called Thunderbird which is far better - or you may prefer to use a web-based email service.

Internet (web): again, no problem. The Aspire One comes with Firefox 2 installed as standard; Firefox 3 is better now, but it's not that hard to have both on the system.

Once you've got your machine, come back and we'll tell you where to find the simple instructions for doing these two installations.