Printing from ACER Aspire on AA11-Ab with Linux

Discussion in 'Linux' started by jane renwick, May 2, 2009.

1. jane renwick

jane renwick

Acer Aspire on AB110 netbook Model Model ZG5

I am new to both this netbook as well as totally new to LINUX, having been in Windows for more years than I can remember.

Several other things I need to know but the simplest, obstacle today is, I want to PRINT from it. The printer I have got is a Canon Pixma MP210, which I purchased here in Turkey, which came with a CD disk. I don't have one on the netbook.

Unsure what to do I went to Canon site & downloaded for my printer a file which goes into “downloads” folder as MP210_debian.tar

As I don't know WHERE to put it (I don't understand file extensions in Acer/Linux, (which I DO with Windows), I try to open it in anything (I am not sure what I am supposed to “open it with”)

I get messages like “can't do ... NAUTILUS not open). I don't even know about Nautilus, let alone GNOME. Basically, I (still) don't know what I am doing and wish I had paid the extra for Windows!
    Just looking at your “beginner's” section, I see ANO item “SAMBA” (Oh, not another thing I don't know about)

I just want SOMEONE to say- SIMPLEST possible terms, “Click this”, “Open/Save this”, “Move to” - you DUMMY”, which I am now prepared to admit. And there's me thinking I was [told that] I was really “good” on computers!!!

I would just ADORE to find and communicate with ONE person, and I don't care WHAT you CALL me, “Silly old, geriatric, dribbly 64-year old pensioner, cow (female)”. I'll allow ANYTHING to understand my new toy

I appreciate you 'guys' (and girls, obviously), are SUPER DUPER GEEKS and can supply REAMS of tekky stuff. But please could you try “SIMPLE” stuff first, until I get used to things, then I'll catch up!! xxx

jane renwick, May 2, 2009
  2. jane renwick

solpuerto

Hi Jane