Problem Installing Epson R240

Discussion in 'Linux' started by flightltnt, Jan 12, 2009.

1. flightltnt

flightltnt

Hope someone out there can help. I'm new to linux after spending too many years working with windows. I recently got an Acer One with Linpus Lite and have been slowly getting to grips with it.

One thing is proving troubling though, installing my Epson Stylus Photo R240 printer. I connect it via usb and it's detected and installed using the Epson Stylus Photo 750 Foomatic/stcolor driver. All good I'm thinking, however when I try a test print it just says "test page submitted as job..." but there's no sign of life at the printer and no documents are queued. I've tried searching the forums and Googling to find the answer to no avail. I can't help but think that it's just a small thing but my lack of Linux knowledge is holding me back. Any assistance is much appreciated.

flightltnt, Jan 12, 2009
  2. flightltnt

yodersj

A bit of this thread:
    viewtopic.php?f=17&t=6627&p=43882
    may help. It appears support for your printer was added into the gutenprint drivers v5.0.1. The latest gutenprint drivers for the printer system (cups) available via the "yum" command is v5.0.2, but I don't know if the Acer update program would get you this version or not.

CUPS is the like the Windows print system. For the print system to print correctly to your printer it needs drivers. That's where gutenprint comes in, somewhat like the driver disk or download for your printer if you were running Windows. If running the Acer update does not make your printer appear in a selectable list (see the thread linked above), or you need additional info, then post back.

yodersj, Jan 13, 2009
  3. flightltnt

flightltnt