problem with password request for insalation

Discussion in 'Linux' started by nenu, Jan 14, 2009.

1. nenu

nenu

Hi all,

Sorry if this is a repeat question but I am a complete newbee.

I have tried to install AVG (I made sure it is the version for linux) but as soon as I download and click open to install I get asked for my password. I put in the password but it just asks again...I have tried both upper and lower case, and I know it is the correct password.

I checked that it is the right password by restarting and hitting F2 and entering the set up place thingy (see I told you I am new to this).

What am I doing wrong please...and do I actually need to add a virus scanner and or firewall to my machine in the first place?

Nenu

nenu, Jan 14, 2009
  2. nenu

Grim Squeaker

The BIOS (that "F2 thingy" ;)) password has nothing to do with the password your operating system, be it Linux, Windows or a more exotic flavour uses. The password AVG wants is either the root or the user password, which you should have entered during your first start-up.

If you bought a One that was pre-configured you will have to change it. Fortunately the security settings Acer has decided to use are .. well.. pathetic, so this is easy ;)

Open up a terminal and type:
    Code:
    sudo passwd
    to change the root password

and
    Code:
    sudo passwd user
    to change the user password.
    You can make them identical if you wish.

As for the "do I need a virusscanner" question - no, not really. Virusses aimed at linux are extremely rare; the main reasons to get a scanner would be to make sure you do not send virusses that can not harm you to other people or to scan a mailbox that is also used from within windows.

Grim Squeaker, Jan 14, 2009
  3. nenu

nenu

Thank you...but still got a problem :(