Problems with gcc

Discussion in 'Linux' started by larkim, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. larkim

    larkim

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are a couple of things I'd like to set up (including VirtualBox amongst others) that require gcc in order to compile.

    However, I'm not able to get this to work (sudo yum install gcc) because that command complains about glibc-common 2.7-2 being required.

    As far as I can see, I have glibc-common 2.9-2 installed (which to any right thinking person would mean I didn't need to install 2.7-2 surely?!) and I believe I would be foolish to the point of utter stupidity to try removing the 2.9-2 version as it is a fairly important library of components.

    Any suggestions of how to proceed? Or any logs / terminal outputs that you'd like to see to help?

    (And while I'm at it, how to you copy and paste to / from firefox on the AAO into xterm? Ctrl-C doesn't see to do anything).

    Thanks in advance for any help!

    Matt
     
    larkim, Jun 9, 2009
    #1
  2. larkim

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Re glibc and VitrualBox - looks like you're pulling programs from multiple sources. glibc-2.7-2 is available from http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/buildinfo?buildID=21544, but you may find that you have other installed programs that require the later version. To downgrade glibc, download the needed files, open a terminal window, move to the directory containing the downgrade rpms, then
    Code:
    sudo rpm -Uvh --oldpackage <files.rpm> 
    (replacing <files.rpm> with a space-separated list of the rpm files to be downgraded.

    Copy-and-paste from ff to xterm - highlight the text to be copied in firefox, click on Edit->Copy. Place your cursor in the xterm at the insertion point and press Ctrl-Insert
     
    RockDoctor, Jun 9, 2009
    #2
  3. larkim

    larkim

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tips. I'm reluctant to downgrade glibc though, as (presumably) its there because other apps have requested it.

    In terms of copy and pasting, I've tried that! Ctrl-Insert just delivers "5~" into the terminal window, rather than the copied text. I've tried copying via ctrl-c and using the firefox menus, and then ctrl-v or ctrl-insert - nothing seems to work!

    Cheers!

    Matt
     
    larkim, Jun 10, 2009
    #3
  4. larkim

    JerryP

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're right to not try to downgrade glibc, just about every program depends on it. A kernel upgrade is a piece of cake in comparison.
    I don't know if rpm will properly handle it, but it's possible to have more that one glibc installed at the same time. I think your best bet is to find a gcc that will work with your installed glibc though.

    For paste, ctrl-c works for me, except for Firefox, which only accepts a middle-button click to paste.
     
    JerryP, Jun 10, 2009
    #4
  5. larkim

    larkim

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Middle button?!? Where's that on the AAO! :lol:

    Matt
     
    larkim, Jun 10, 2009
    #5
  6. larkim

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    click both buttons simultaneously
     
    RockDoctor, Jun 10, 2009
    #6
  7. larkim

    JerryP

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also IIRC the standard touchpad setup has "buttons" defined in the corners, top or bottom right corner would probably be button 2.
     
    JerryP, Jun 11, 2009
    #7
  8. larkim

    fritzm

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just run into exactly the same problem with installing gcc; I'd love to hear if anyone has tried any of these solutions and if so whether they were successful.

    I am more used to apt based distributions (Ubuntu) and there is an option to force apt to ignore version problems like this which is often useful, because the newer package very often works fine, it's just the person who specified the dependencies forgot to say "version x or later". I was wondering if yum also has such an option I can experiment with ?I've got my AAO backed up with Macles' excellent program, so if anything breaks I can easily restore to the working configuration.

    To cut from Firefox ctrl-c works fine, the trick is that in the terminal you need to use ctrl-shift-V to paste; ctrl-V does nothing. I find this very handy when copying commands from a web page because together with Alt-tab to switch applications, I can do everything from the keyboard.

    Fritz
     
    fritzm, Jun 12, 2009
    #8
  9. larkim

    fritzm

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I've found the source of the problem, it is patch 180084. I used the AAO_v1-0-15E.iso system image to restore my machine, then applied the patches one by one until glibc and glibc-common (and a few other files) changed from version 2.7.2 to 2.9.2 and it turns out that patch 180084 is the culprit. The effect of this is that you have a mixed FC8 and FC10 system, which makes it impossible to install GCC. This patch also causes some other problems with Mobile Partner, so I strongly recommend not installing it. Macles' method of making all patches optional works for me to allow me to deselect this patch while continuing to install other patches.

    Fritz
     
    fritzm, Jun 14, 2009
    #9
  10. larkim

    larkim

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent, thanks for the tip.

    I may or may not bother with sorting out gcc now, as I have a working netbook, but my desire to fiddle is strong!

    Can live updates be rolled back? i.e. could I "uninstall" 180084?

    Matt
     
    larkim, Jun 15, 2009
    #10
  11. larkim

    fritzm

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you open LiveUpdate and click on history, you get a list of installed patches; there is an uninstall button but it is greyed out for patch 180084, so I assume it can't be uninstalled. That's why I went the route of doing a fresh install and then re-installing all my changes to the base system. I'm now taking the precaution of doing a system backup (using another of Macles' handy utilities) before installing anything in case I need to revert.

    Fritz
     
    fritzm, Jun 15, 2009
    #11
  12. larkim

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    No direct rollback - uninstalling a program means it's gone; there's no automatically saved previous version that gets restored. Often you can downgrade and rpm:
    Code:
    sudo rpm -Uvh --oldpackage [list=1]
     
    RockDoctor, Jun 15, 2009
    #12
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.