Problems

Discussion in 'Linux' started by arae, Nov 13, 2008.

  1. arae

    arae

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am a fair newb running linpus lite out of the box and have had for a couple of weeks, worked fine. Now suddenly, nothing opens. Messenger won't open, none of the settings apps will open.
    Because I'm a monumental fool, I don't have any kind of backup.

    Any advice?
     
    arae, Nov 13, 2008
    #1
  2. arae

    daldred

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does ALT-F2 still give you a 'run' dialogue, and if so can you get a console by putting 'terminal' into that dialog and pressing 'OK'?

    (If nothing else, this will; let you run some sort of backup; it may also allow us to fix it!)
     
    daldred, Nov 13, 2008
    #2
  3. arae

    arae

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, that works just fine.
     
    arae, Nov 19, 2008
    #3
  4. arae

    daldred

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right; first thing is to get your data backed up. Assuming all your data is within your /home/user directory (so in the usual places in the file manager - Documents, Music, Pictures etc), then in the terminal do:
    Code:
    cd
    du -ch | grep total
    This will tell you how big your home directory is; get hold of a big enough empty pen drive (probably easiest to format / empty it on another machine) and plug it in. Now do
    Code:
    df
    and you should find an entry for /media/disk (or something very like that) which is where Linux has mounted your pen drive. To copy your files over to this pen drive do
    Code:
    cp -a /home/user/ /media/disk/ 
    (obviously changing the /media/disk if that's not exactly wht it said on the du response).

    When it's finished, you have a backup, so that's one thing out of the way.

    Now, let's see what's gone wrong. We may well end up needing to do a full restore, but try this first, still in the terminal:
    Code:
    killall xfdesktop2
    xfdesktop2
    This will force your desktop to reload. Note that at this stage closing the terminal will re-close your desktop, so don't - just minimise it.

    Does the desktop now work, and if not did it throw any error messages out into the terminal window?
     
    daldred, Nov 19, 2008
    #4
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.