Question about the different OSes

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Neffirithion, Dec 19, 2008.

1. Neffirithion

Neffirithion

So I am getting a really awesome looking AAO for christmas, and while it is here, it is under the tree and I can't get it out and play with it until the 25th. So I am doing my research and getting a to do list ready for it. The first thing of course, is getting rid of the XP pro the previous owner had on it (I got it off ebay used) and put a good linux OS on it. While I am not a complete stranger to linux (have ubuntu as a dual boot on this machine for 2ish years) I am far from an expert. Well I have heard a ton of different OSes being thrown around for an AAO and was wanting to get some kind of informed opinion on which one is currently the best... The list so far i've seen consists of more or less...

Ubuntu Netbook remix
    EEE-Ubuntu
    Normal Ubuntu
    XUbuntu...

There are a bunch of others as well... From what I've read, the only thing that would make me stay away from the netbook remix, is the fact that i think i still want a desktop environment, while the netbook remix lacks any form of desktop. I do believe that I am going to attempt to install the kernel that is specifically designed for the AAO. From what i read, it sounded like it could be applied to any Ubuntu derivative or something... I did a search, but didn't come up with anything conclusive but I didn't look too hard so if its already been posted, i apologize.

Thanks in advance!
    Matt

Neffirithion, Dec 19, 2008
  2. Neffirithion

KillerStephen

I would go with windows. Of course.

KillerStephen, Dec 19, 2008
  3. Neffirithion

JimK

There are other Ubuntu options:

Kuki (still in development; customized for AA1)
    Linux Mint
    Simply Mepis (or is that Debian now? I can't keep track.)
    gOS
    Kiwi Linux (includes multimedia codecs, adobe flash etc.)

Sorry I can't recommend one since I use Fedora XFCE spin.

JimK, Dec 19, 2008
  4. Neffirithion

Japser