Rdesktop & Sound

Discussion in 'Linux' started by bluefrog, Oct 19, 2008.

  1. bluefrog

    bluefrog

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,

    So I've been thinking about replacing my gigantic Dell Inspiron 9400 with my Acer when on the road using rdesktop to get back into the Inspiron when I need it. Enabled Terminal Services in Vista and can connect without issue from my Acer using the following command:

    Code:
    rdesktop -u vistausername -p vistapassword -f vistaip
    
    Only thing is, I can't seem to get sound from the Vista machine. I tried:

    Code:
    rdesktop -u vistausername -p vistapassword -f -r sound:local vistaip
    
    but not a peep comes out. Now I know that the Vista machine is sending sound as the sound output device in Vista is being successfully sent to the RDP output.

    I read that rdesktop uses OSS and therefore you need to 'fool' it into using ALSA using the ALSA-OSS package so I installed that and tried:

    Code:
    aoss rdesktop -u vistausername -p vistapassword -f -r sound:local vistaip
    
    Still no sound. Also tried explicitly setting the driver:

    Code:
    aoss rdesktop -u vistausername -p vistapassword -f -r sound:local:oss vistaip
    
    still with no sound.

    Now the only thing I haven't done is explicitly set the device in the rdesktop command (it seems it uses /dev/dsp as default) so I'm thinking that maybe this is the issue. Problem is, I don't know how to refer to the output sound device on the Acer.

    Anyone have any idea how I should refer to it?
     
    bluefrog, Oct 19, 2008
    #1
  2. bluefrog

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    Have you tried ... sound:remote

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Oct 19, 2008
    #2
  3. bluefrog

    bluefrog

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey rbil,

    From what I saw when I simply entered the command rdesktop it seemed to me that I would use sound:remote if I wanted to output the sound from the Inspiron's speakers rather than directing it to the Acer. If I use sound:remote with aoss or without I still get no sound out of the Acer but I do get sound out of the Vista machine as expected.

    I am still convinced I need to explicity set the device. When I use skype I have to explicitly set the input source for the internal mic.
     
    bluefrog, Oct 19, 2008
    #3
  4. bluefrog

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    It has been quite some time since I used rdesktop, so you are probably right. I can't remember whether I was trying to hear the sound from the XP box or the Linux box. In any case, have you tried this ...

    -r sound:local:alsa

    since your Linpus system is using alsa?

    If that doesn't work then maybe install: alsa-plugins-oss and continue trying with the oss device?

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Oct 19, 2008
    #4
  5. bluefrog

    bluefrog

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestions.

    Well according to the documentation, only the OSS driver is supported so changing it to ALSA shouldn't help - tried anyway and sure enough, got a sound output error. Installed alsa-plugins-oss but made no difference either. Still thinking it's down to specifying the device name in the command.

    While its not a critical issue I really would like to get this working.
     
    bluefrog, Oct 19, 2008
    #5
  6. bluefrog

    bluefrog

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Latest update on this is that I uninstalled rdesktop, downloaded and compiled from source with the alsa support configuration switch and still no sound. I'm about out of ideas on this one
     
    bluefrog, Oct 26, 2008
    #6
  7. bluefrog

    bluefrog

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Rdesktop & Sound - Solved

    Well, just when I had given up on this along comes the solution via a guy called Tony S from the Irish Linux Users mailing list. Adding -r disk:Z/mnt to the command gives local sound on my Acer from my Vista machine. So the command I use to launch now looks like:

    Code:
    rdesktop -u vistausername -p vistapassword -r sound:local -a 16 -r disk:Z/mnt VistaIP
    
    Shame the sound quality on the Acer isn't a bit better but I certianly am happy not to have to employ sherpers to lug my Inspiron round with me anymore.
     
    bluefrog, Nov 7, 2008
    #7
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.