Rebooting using unetbootin

Discussion in 'Linux' started by RyanPilot, Nov 4, 2009.

1. RyanPilot

RyanPilot

Hi,

I am a novice with Linux to say the least, the last Live update complete knacked my Aspire One and I need to reboot it somehow. I have downloaded an .iso file which I have on a 4GB USB stick. Do I need to use unetbootin to install the OS?

Also does this method erase all of my personal data? This would be a disaster for me, I admittedly should have backed it all up knowing how unreliable this machine is. My AAO has an SD card, am I right in assuming this holds all of the documents, pictures, videos directories etc. and therefore would not be touched during the rebooting?

Cheers,
    Ryan.

RyanPilot, Nov 4, 2009
  2. RyanPilot

RockDoctor

To reboot: turn the power off, wait 15 seconds, then turn the power back on.

I'm guessing you think you need to reformat the system drive and reinstall the operating system. That may, indeed be true.

You should have backed up your data for several reasons, among them:
    1. You think the hardware is somewhat unreliable
    2. You've been a forum member since April, and have seen that updates sometimes hose the system
    3. You're a Linux novice and therefore likely to unwittingly hose your system

As for your SD card, it may contain data which may be recoverable even if you need to reformat. You haven't provided enough information for that determination to be made, and, as a novice, you may not know what information you should provide. No problem, I'll just start asking:
    1. Which model Aspire One do you have?
    2. What operating system is on it? If it's the operating system that came on your Aspire One, it's Linpus Lite)
    3. What happens when you turn on the power?

RockDoctor, Nov 5, 2009
  3. RyanPilot

Grim Squeaker