Smartboard, SAMBA and Tsclient

Discussion in 'Linux' started by riw20, Jan 9, 2009.

1. riw20

riw20

I acquired an Linpus-based AA1 for my wife for Christmas. She is a teacher and loves the form factor and the speed it starts up. I've managed to get most of the apps she used to use on Windows working, but have a few I can't seem to get running, including by trawling for people who've tried before. I'm a Linux newbie. Happy to play with command line stuff, but need step by step instructions! All offers of help much appreciated:

1) Smartboard (interactive whiteboard used by teachers). You can get Linux software from http://www2.smarttech.com/st/en-US/Supp ... 0Linux.htm. I can't get it to install.

2) Tsclient: I've installed Rdesktop from the AA1 support site to get Windows Remote Desktop functionality (for some reasons schools seem to love using this as a way of remotely accessing servers), and this works with a command line string. Would prefer to get graphical interface working. I've seen and tried RPM installation instructions, but seem to get problems (downloaded filename seems to end with .src.rpm rather than .i386.rpm which instructions seem to need). I get the feeling I'm doing something numpty, but can't work it out.

3) SAMBA. I've got a NAS device at home which I connect windows machines to using SAMBA. Can't seem to find a way to do this for the AA1.

It's a great little device, but if I could sort these out it would be perfect.

Thanks
    Richard

riw20, Jan 9, 2009
  2. riw20

Beagleux

I have a rdesktop.desktop file located in my /usr/share/applications/ folder. This is a java app and seems to be working fine and having a gui. I think this was allready installed on the computer when i got.

Beagleux, Jan 10, 2009
  3. riw20

yodersj