Solar Charger/Adaptor

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by loopyoyo, Sep 18, 2008.

1. loopyoyo

loopyoyo

Just wondering if anyone has tinkered with the idea of using a solar panel to charge/power the AAO. I know there are some projects out there for EEE's but haven't seen anything on the one yet. WOuld like to hear yourguys thoughts and input

Loop :geek:

loopyoyo, Sep 18, 2008
  2. loopyoyo

flamingswrd

I'm not an expert on circuitry...but I know the following exist:
    Portable size solar panels (~$70 for 3"x6" I think)
    USB Components
    Wire
    Resistors, Capacitors.

Anyone that knows enough about circuitry could slap something together to charge it by USB. I have seen designs in magazines, so yes it is possible.

flamingswrd, Sep 18, 2008
  3. loopyoyo

JonB256

What is the output voltage of the supplied charger? It is a "single voltage" power connector, so a solar panel just needs to output something greater (but not too much unless you want to add a voltage regulator) than that voltage.

So, anyone measure the output voltage? and is it Negative tip or Positive tip?
    (I'm not at home to look, but it very possible says right on the power brick)

JonB256, Sep 24, 2008
  4. loopyoyo

olavxxx

Hi, the supplied charger is 19V.
    It has + in the centre.

olavxxx, Sep 24, 2008
  5. loopyoyo

gordon1

This would take a tremendous amount of effort to pull off. Since each cell generates about .5v you would need about 38 cells wired in series that would get no where near to the 1.5amps these computers need. I would really freaking hard and it would be very big and impossible to carry around.

However, since the battery is only 10.8v (3 lithium cells in series) you could possibly find a way to only input power to the charge circuit, but I don not know how much initial voltage that needs, so this may not work either. :lol:

gordon1, Sep 25, 2008
  6. loopyoyo

flamingswrd