Some guidance please

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by Hallidaymj, Aug 18, 2008.

1. Hallidaymj

Hallidaymj

Im running the Linpus version of the Acer One, and use Open Office on other machines (in Vista / XP). I am a Linux newbie. The OO 2.3 installed does not have the database loaded.

So I went to the OO site and downloaded the snappily named OOo_2.4.1_LinuxIntel_install_wJRE_en-US.tar.gz file. Once expanded it seems to have an installation shell script that appears to do nothing.

I spoke to Acer help who gave me instructions for downloading and installing the DEB variety. The first step of which was to uninstall the existing OO. Though reading forum posts indicates Deb is not for the AA1.

I bumped into a couple of Linux boffins in the canteen who tried installing the OO 'base' files. There is a conflict problem between modules 1 and 2 (I had lost the plot by this time, though they were as happy as kids playing on the AA1).

I am well aware OO is already installed, but I want the database as well. Can anyone carefully explain to me exactly the steps I should be taking?

Running commands in terminal doesnt worry me as Im old enough to have used pcs pre Windows.
    Thanks,
    Mike

Hallidaymj, Aug 18, 2008
  2. Hallidaymj

pirracas

I am exactly in the same situation. If someone can help he would have two thankful chaps rather than one :mrgreen:

pirracas, Aug 19, 2008
  3. Hallidaymj

Hallidaymj

an update:

i had read the "how to install an app" guide in this beginners section. Yes - I had turned on the right click menu. No - I hadnt visited the web link http://www.laptopmag.com/advice/how-to/ ... spx?step=1

so i did exactly as the web article said. i updated my admin password (though i thought it was the same as the one created on first running the AA1. (I still think it is because from terminal i could enter su and be asked for my password. I entered the one i created in setting the machine up ans I was greeted with the superuser prompt).