T-Mobile Broadband USB Stick 110 with Linpus

Discussion in 'Networking' started by leeram, Mar 24, 2009.

1. leeram

leeram

Hi Everyone,

It took me quite a while to find enough information to get my T-Mobile dongle working so thought it might be useful to post what I did.

First off, I am a complete newbie when it comes to Linux so apologies if I get the terminology wrong.

- Go to the normal Acer Live Update utility, in your Settings, and update your Linpus with all the updates. Most especially the update for Huawei adapters (it was the last one in the list when I did the update). Keep running the Live Update over and over again if needs be, rebooting each time, until it says there are no more updates.

- Once the updates have finished and you have re-booted for the last time, disable your WiFi transmitter by sliding the button on the front of your Aspire One
    - You should now be able to load the Mobile Partner program, it should be in the "Connect" portion of the desktop.
    - Load the Mobile Partner program.
    - Click on Tools, then Options. Highlight Profile Management on the left and then select New on the right
    - Put a name in the "Profile Name" box, anything you like but I just used "T-Mobile"
    - For APN, Select "Dynamic" and leave the APN text box blank
    - Set the access number to *99# if it isn't already. It was that as default on mine.
    - leave the username blank
    - leave the password blank
    - select CHAP if it isn't already selected.
    - Click ok
    - You should now have a profile in the "profile name" box and a greyed out "connect" box in Mobile Partner.

Mobile Parner is now set up and running.
    Just to be sure that Linpus won't interfere with Mobile Partner when accessing the USB dongle, right click on the Network Connection indicator at the bottom right corner of your desktop, near the clock.

- Select Preferences