teething troubles

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by bouli, Oct 16, 2008.

1. bouli

bouli

Hi all, hope someone out there can point me in the right directions here.
    Just got my aspire one last week, and love the little guy! But am having some issues.
    1) When I try to run the live update, it tells me "Check if the network cable is properly installed, or 2 check your etwork status But I am online, is that not the same thing?

2) I managed to get the advanced mode up and running, and skype too (yaahhh me!) but now I want to get VLC onboard and rid of the media player that is already installed. I have no knowledge of linux so pls in simple term tell me how to do this? I tried following the instructions on this page www.reghardware.co.uk/2008/09/05/ten_as ... page4.html but every time i try to load vlc it tells me I am missing codecs....

3) Using the same site listed above I got skype and a skype icon up on the desktop, but....there are now 7 icons in the connect panel, but seems to be only room for 6? the final two icons are placed on top of each other, and won&t move to the empty spaces to the right no matter how I try click and drag them....

Help please..........

(But I did manage to get skype.....)
    Pol.

bouli, Oct 16, 2008
  2. bouli

the100thmonkey

I can't help with the other stuff, but I think I can help with you music...

You need to install the mp3 codec. To download it, you will need to add a 3rd party repository such as Livna. There may be other ways to do this, but this is the method I used.

1. Switch to Advanced Mode. This allows you to access many of the essential functions of a Linux OS by right-clicking anywhere on the desktop.[/*:m:3s1celwz]
    2. Once you have the advanced menu option, you can install software using the Add/Remove software program:

>> Right click over empty desktop
      >> select the 'System' option from the menu that appears
      >> Select 'Add or Remove Programs' from the top of the list.