Ubuntu 8.10

Discussion in 'Linux' started by tomt, Dec 10, 2008.

1. tomt

tomt

Couple of questions re Ubuntu 8.10

I've just installed 8.10 on to my Acer Aspire 1694WMLI and it runs well. All hardware etc working.
    (1GB, 100GB HD, 128MB X700 and Centrino 2Ghz)

How will it run on the Acer One ?? 1GB + 120GB Hard Disk. ??
    Will it be similar or worse in performance ??

How do I install it ? I've looked around this forum, but can seem to fine a simple How To !!

Thanks

tomt, Dec 10, 2008
  2. tomt

mikespug

3. tomt

tomt

Thanks seems a lot of work !! :shock:
    Installing on to my acer aspire 1694wmli was very simple..

I had hoped it would be like that..

tomt, Dec 10, 2008
  4. tomt

gruffsy

It is really easy, but there is some work to install, because the One doesn't have a CD-ROM. But when you have a working, bootable USB-stick it is really easy. I'm a Linux newbie, but has successfully installed Ubuntu several times already. Expect the whole operation to take 2 hours. There are a lot of updates that are needed. When the update is finished, you are almost ready to go. There is just one thing more to do and that is to install the wonderful kernel compiled by SICKBOY.

This means that you'll have to do only four operations;
    Make a bootable USB - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AspireOne110L
    Install
    Update
    Install new kernel - http://www.aspireoneuser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=7560
    That is not much work.I have probably done 500 XP installs, and this is easier. :D

gruffsy, Dec 10, 2008
  5. tomt

tomt

Thanks.
    Can I not install from the LiveDVD ??
    Does the audio / Mic work ??

Will I be able to keep Linpus ?? ie dual boot ?
    I've bought the 120GB Version !!

tomt, Dec 10, 2008
  6. tomt

gruffsy

Of course you can. Just put the DVD on the keyboard, close the LCD-lid over it and it will be scanned. Your Ubuntu is now installed! ;)

Please read the Howto's and the postings in this forum.

gruffsy, Dec 10, 2008