Ubuntu 9.10 Official Release

Discussion in 'Linux' started by libssd, Oct 29, 2009.

1. libssd

libssd

Update manager just told me that 9.10 is now available.

http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/release ... 10overview

I'm very conservative (and don't have a bootable backup to my 9.04 installation) so I have no intention of upgrading today. Probably sometime next week, if there are no horror stories.

Since 9.04 was my introduction to Ubuntu, I have no experience with the upgrade process. It looks pretty straightforward, and everything else about Ubuntu has been very polished, so my anxiety level is fairly low. On the other hand, everything works (I just noticed that the green WiFi traffic indicator light started working again; not sure when that happened.)

http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/upgrading

Any 9.10 experiences to report from early adapters? I'm interested in production desktop 9.10 experiences, not those of beta testers or UNR users.

libssd, Oct 29, 2009
  2. libssd

Guest Guest

I upgraded this morning it took about 3 hours on my aspire one so I recomend if you can to do a fresh install to save time. But it went ok except for the normal pitfalls of having to edit the grulb menu, ubuntu install recognizes the restore partition but not windows xp partion so i had to edit it after it was done and add it to the menu.lst.

Guest, Oct 29, 2009
  3. libssd

libssd

Thank you -- these are very useful tips, especially the part about the grub menu. I'll wait for more reports, and continue reading release notes and upgrade instructions. I assume you did not convert from ext3 to ext4. Looking at some performance comparisons, there seems little real world performance improvement with ext4, although if I were to do a fresh install, I suppose I use the newer filesystem.