UNR 9.04 1st impressions & list of queries

Discussion in 'Linux' started by simbeb, May 1, 2009.

1. simbeb

simbeb

I have installed the official release of Ubuntu Netbook Remix alongside my installation of Tiny XP SP3. i am aiming at a 100% Linux AA1 but I want to sort out all the issues first. It might takes months or more especially because I'm a complete newbie with anything Linux, but i am in no rush... Here are my first comments and queries:

-SD card not hot pluggable issue:I read that all it took was to update the BIOS to v3309 to sort this out: it didn’t do anything.. At least I’ve got the latest BIOS! If you do have another solution, please let me know – and If I need to use the terminal, be specific, I am an absolute beginner!

-Swap partition:Following advice from Melhiore, I reduced it to 1gb (my RAM is 1.5gb) as I was running out of space on the UNR system partition ( I have a dual install of XP and UNR on the 8gb ssd, so compromises need to be made!) It does not affect the system as hibernation should never be used anyway.

-Desktop:How do I keep the wallpaper I have chosen for it? Every time I reboot, the default wallpaper comes back.How annoying.
    How do you change the default folders listed in the right-hand side panel? I haven’t got space to use the ssd as a files drive so I use the sd in the left slot, and I’d like to map the folders on it to that panel (permanently.)

-Apps:Has anyone tried to install Truecrypt? If so, please give me a shout.
    Evolution: I uninstalled it along with plenty other apps to make room on my tiny ssd but the logo remains in the favorites and I can’t get rid of it!