Using yum

Discussion in 'Linux' started by bolero, Feb 19, 2009.

1. bolero

bolero

Hi, I'm new to the Aspire (I just bought a 150L for "playing" as they are so cheap now) and would like to know about your update experience with the pre-installed Linpus Linux. I ran the Live Update and it worked just fine, but that pulled only some Acer-specific stuff. I then did a "yum update" and that fails because of some conflicts with the installed acer packages. scim-1.4.7-7.fc8 and scim-pinyin conflict with scim-aspire, gnome-menus conflicts with xfdesktop-acer. Is it advisable to ignore that and just force the installation or should I leave these three packages out? Or is it advisable to not yum update at all?
    I don't want to go to another distribution at the moment as I'm slightly familiar with Fedora (we use CentOS heavily in Business), so going to FC10 or Ubuntu is not an option at least for the time being.
    Thanks for any insight.

bolero, Feb 19, 2009
  2. bolero

TheTilde

posting.php?mode=quote&f=71&p=73495#

Hi
    Stop! I think that it's not advisable at all to do a yum update: it will erase all the linpus special tricks and gives you a fedora desktop at best (without the speedy boot, maybe without the webcam and the wifi). At worst you won't boot next time.
    It's quite safe to use live update, and to use yum to install desired packages. Till now I've been able to install all that I wanted without any problems. But don't update/upgrade with yum.

cheers
    TheTilde

TheTilde, Feb 20, 2009
  3. bolero

RockDoctor

For me, the flexibility of a real Fedora installation more than outweighs the few advantages offered by Linpus Lite. However, YMMV - use what works for you. Forcing yum to update your custom Linpus apps will wreak havoc with your OS; definitely not advised.