WIFI in acer one zg5 ubuntu

Discussion in 'Linux' started by helloworld, Oct 23, 2009.

1. helloworld

helloworld

Hello dear friends,

I bought a used acer aspire one zg5 with ubuntu and everything is ok but the WIFI...I am a novice in Linux but I know at least something...the wired lan network works fine but the WIFI is not working at all...the front wifi light is off and not showing at all...and I do not have even the possibility to run the wifi network search or even anything on the wifi manager...

I am freaking out so I would greatly appreciate any kind off help

helloworld, Oct 23, 2009
  2. helloworld

grantrice

What version of Ubuntu are you using?

Have you tried a live CD using either a portable cd drive or a bootable usb stick?
    The later versions of Ubuntu such as 9.04 or 9.10 RC should work 'out of the box'.

From your current version you could type lspci from the terminal to see if the OS detected the wifi card.
    It should most likely be the atheros 242 and it will use the ath5k driver.

grantrice, Oct 23, 2009
  3. helloworld

bubbalooo

So I have a aspire one I bought a month ago that came with XP I dual booted Ubuntu Koala and had no wireless and or it was intermittent. Which version of Ubuntu is your set up with is my 1st question. A fairly easy fix without editing the associated files is to install wicd which is in synaptic, this will remove the network manager and replace it with a 3rd party wicd. You might just try to reinstall the network manager 1st by going to synaptic and right clicking on network manager and ticking the reinstall, before you try wicd. If you install wicd install then reboot your computer so that you get the applet in the notification area where network manager resides right now.