Windows Server 2008

Discussion in 'Windows' started by dmdrummond, Jan 27, 2009.

1. dmdrummond

dmdrummond

I recently got my aspire one, and have put many, many operating systems on it (different linux distros, windows xp, windows 7 beta, windows server 2008). The one I have settled with for now (I will probably switch to windows 7 when it is released) is Windows Server 2008. I was wondering if anyone else is running this, what their experiences with it are and what optimisations you made.

I have a windows server license from dreamspark as I am a qualifying student. Maybe others would qualify too.

I installed the Desktop Experience feature for the eye candy, made some other changes to optimise the system for use as a workstation (from http://www.win2008workstation.com/wordpress/ which is a fantastic resource), modified some registry settings to install a good antivirus. Vista drivers all work pretty much perfectly. Office works great.

From accounts I have read on the internet WS2008 is supposed to run more stable, and faster than Vista. I cannot verify this, as I never installed Vista on the Netbook. However my experience is that it works great on the Aspire One.

dmdrummond, Jan 27, 2009
  2. dmdrummond

frandu

Interesting.... truly interesting.

Would you mind to tell us the model of your aspire one? It is SSD? How would Win 2008 performance with only 512?

Thanks and share more about your experience!

frandu, Jan 27, 2009
  3. dmdrummond

dmdrummond

Oh yes, of course...

Its the 1GB model 120GB Hard disk, originally with Linpus Lite. Sorry I'm not sure how the SSD version would fare.

Looking at the current RAM usage, it's taking about 550M with only firefox and the anti-virus running, however I intend to go through the running services, and see which ones I don't need to try to bring that figure down.