WinXP Home or Pro?

Discussion in 'Windows' started by accord-se, Oct 20, 2008.

1. accord-se

accord-se

Hi guys

I really confuse in this :geek:

what in the best for our mini laptop Windows XP Home SP3 or Pro SP3

and if I install the Pro version is my laptop become slower

accord-se, Oct 20, 2008
  2. accord-se

nmesisca

Pro version has more networking functionalities (domains etc)
    If you dont need a domain connection, Home is just as good. Nothing to do with speed anyways.

nmesisca, Oct 20, 2008
  3. accord-se

Dartsani

If you have to ask question like that, I'm certain that you don't know how to use those "extras" in Pro version.
    So just install Home version.

Dartsani, Oct 20, 2008
  4. accord-se

accord-se

the Home sp3 version is already install but I was thinking is the pro better performance

in my PC I have the pro and you can say this is my first time using home version

accord-se, Oct 20, 2008
  5. accord-se

nmesisca

performance are the same on any version

nmesisca, Oct 20, 2008
  6. accord-se

accord-se

thanks ;)

at least I'll forget format for Por

accord-se, Oct 21, 2008
  7. accord-se

Tamrac

XP Home SP3 boots significantly faster than XP Pro. Both will perform the same, but again XP Home will require less disk space. And will have less un needed features & services no one uses. So it's XP Home for the AAO. Unless you intend to use EWF, then it will only work on Pro.

Tamrac, Oct 21, 2008
  8. accord-se

MR650

If you have a choice between Home and Pro for XP always take Pro. You can turn off the services added by pro and remove the features with add or remove, but you cannot add them into home. Encrypt, domains, easier backup, MS 2 many II'server, and a few other things that you might want are features of Pro only. You can't even run things like VPC on home w/o using orca. So, if you have a choice I would recommend pro because you just can't build home up to pro.