XP on Linux version of AA1...possible?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by princessalissa, Dec 3, 2008.

1. princessalissa

princessalissa

Hi everyone! Im new to the board, and Im so thankful Ive found it! I am new to Linux, and after it took me an hour just to change the background color, Ive decided maybe I should attempt to put XP on my AA1.

My question is - if I were to install XP (or TinyXP - I need to learn more about it tho) on my One that originally came with Linux, would everything be functional?

My initial thought would be yes, since Acer also released it with Windows.... but I thought Id ask the experts! :D

Also, I know I will loose a lot of the speed, but do you think xp will run ok on the 8gb/512mb model?

Thanks for any input! I really appreciate it!

Alissa

princessalissa, Dec 3, 2008
  2. princessalissa

SirWilliam

Of course it is possible, the main question is...do you really want it...
    But if you want to do this i recommend this fred.

Greetings

Bill

SirWilliam, Dec 3, 2008
  3. princessalissa

princessalissa

Thanks so much for getting back with me!

I think I do want XP, just because of the familiarity of it. Dont get me wrong - I like the speed of Linux, but I think I might be taking too long to catch on to it really. I might try to switch it over to the standard desktop first, and see how that works for me.

Do you know anything about TinyXp? (http://aspireonesoftware.wordpress.com/2008/09/30/rons-image/
    I think Im favoring it compared to regular XP. Also, what is this going to do to my boot time?

Thanks!

princessalissa, Dec 3, 2008
  4. princessalissa

ronime

XP Home SP3 is fully functional on my AAO with Intel 8GB SSD. All of the required drivers can be downloaded from Acer's support site.

I had some fun and games with my first installation using an nLite'd version. My most recent install was off a full XP Home SP2 CD using a cheap IDE to USB adapter and an old CDROM drive.